> For AI agents: [llms.txt](https://docs.trustedauth.com/llms.txt) provides a Markdown index of this documentation.

# View, edit, delete password authenticators

After you assign a password authenticator to a user, you can manage these password authenticator actions:

- View the password details.
- Set the expiry time.
- Force a password update.
- Reset a password (if enabled).
- Clear the password history.
- Delete a password.
- Send a password expiry notification message.

For password self-service reset behavior, see [Manage password reset](/docs/authentication-and-security/manage-authenticators/manage-password-reset.md).

## View, update, and delete a password authenticator

Complete these steps to manage an existing password authenticator:

1. Click Menu icon **>** **Members > Users**. The **Users List** page appears.

2. Click the **UserID**. The **User Details** page appears.

3. Click the **Authenticators** tab. The **Authenticators** page appears.

4. Click Ellipsis Vertical icon next to the **Password** authenticator.

5. Select the action you want to perform:

   - Click Pencil icon **Reset** to update password settings. For details, see [Assign a password authenticator](/docs/authentication-and-security/manage-authenticators/manage-password-authenticators/assign-a-password-authenticator.md).
   - Click Eye icon **Details** to view password details, then click **OK** to close the details dialog.
   - Click **Send Notification** to send a password expiry notification message.

note
The **Send Notification** feature is only available if sending expiry notifications is enabled. See [Modify password authenticator settings](/docs/authentication-and-security/manage-authenticators/manage-password-authenticators/modify-password-authenticator-settings.md) for more details.

- Click Alarm Clock Plus icon **Set Expiry Time** to set password lifetime values. For details, see [Assign a password authenticator](/docs/authentication-and-security/manage-authenticators/manage-password-authenticators/assign-a-password-authenticator.md).
- Click Refresh CW icon **Force Password Update** to require the user to change their password, then click **Force Password** in the prompt.
- Click Triangle icon **Clear Password History**, then click **Clear** in the prompt.
- Click Trash icon **Delete** to remove the password authenticator, then click **Delete** in the prompt.

### Validate your changes

After you complete an action, verify the expected result:

1. Changes appear on the user's **Authenticators** tab.
2. Prompted confirmation actions (for example, **Delete** or **Clear**) are applied.
3. If notification was sent, delivery occurs according to your configured notification channel behavior.
