> For AI agents: [llms.txt](https://docs.trustedauth.com/llms.txt) provides a Markdown index of this documentation.

# Edit, delete, unlock and disable users

From the **Users List** page, you can do the following:

- [Modify user profiles if some of their information needs to be updated, for example, a phone number for OTP delivery](#modify-a-user-profile).
- [Delete users that no longer need access to IDaaS](#delete-users).
- [Unlock users that are locked due to too many failed authentication attempts or inactivity](#unlock-users).
- [Disable or enable users. For example, disable a user going on longterm leave and then reenable the user when they return and need access](#disable-or-enable-a-user).

note

If a user is locked and you also disable the user, the user's state shows as **Disabled**. If you re-enable the user, the user remains in a locked state until you unlock the user.

## Modify a user profile

You can edit the user profile of users, as follows:

- Only users with a Super Administrator role can change the role assigned to another account.
- Super Administrators can only be deleted by other Super Administrators.
- Super administrators cannot be disabled.
- Administrators cannot change the **Language Preference** selected for their **Profile** information on the Administrator Portal. This feature is disabled. They can, however, modify the **Language Preference** of end users from this page.
- You cannot change the **State** (either Active or Inactive) of an AD-synced user from your IDaaS account. The state of an AD-synced user must be changed from their corporate Active Directory record.
- A **Unique User ID** attribute is added once a user has been added to IDaaS. This attribute is used as SAML assertions to identify the users. You cannot modify this attribute.

### Edit a user profile

1. Click Menu icon **>** **Members > Users**. The **Users List** page appears.
2. Click the **User ID** for the profile you want to edit. The **User Profile** page appears.
3. Make the required changes and click **Save**.

## Delete users

When you delete a user any assigned hardware tokens to be reassigned the list of unassigned tokens. Administrators cannot delete themselves from their account. To delete several users at once, see [Delete users in bulk](/docs/perform-bulk-operations/delete-users.md).

1. Click Menu icon **>** **Members > Users**. The **Users List** page appears.
2. For locally managed users, click Trash icon for the user you want to delete.
3. Click **Delete** on the Delete User prompt.

## Unlock users

You can unlock users who have locked their accounts due to too many failed authentication attempts or inactivity.

User unlock is part of account recovery. For planning guidance across password reset, help desk verification, and authenticator readiness, see [Account recovery and authenticator readiness](/docs/authentication-and-security/manage-authenticators/account-recovery-and-authenticator-readiness.md).

### Unlock a user for too many failed authentication attempts

Users can lock their account by failing an authentication attempt too many times (see **Lockout Count** on the [General Settings](/docs/authentication-and-security/manage-authenticators/manage-general-settings.md) page).

1. Click Menu icon **>** **Members > Users**. The **Users List** page appears.
2. A Lock Keyhole icon appears beside users with locked authenticators.
3. Click Lock Keyhole Open icon Unlock in the **Actions** column. The **Unlock User** dialog box appears showing a list of locked authenticators.
4. Click **Confirm** on the **Unlock User** prompt to unlock the locked authenticators.
5. The Lock Keyhole icon disappears and all the user's authenticators are now unlocked.

note

This unlock action clears the locked authenticators shown in the **Unlock User** dialog. It does not unlock an Entrust Soft Token app PIN. For soft token PIN unlock, see [Unlock an Entrust Soft Token app](/docs/authentication-and-security/manage-authenticators/manage-soft-token-authenticators/unlock-an-entrust-st-app.md).

### Unlock a user due to account inactivity

When user inactivity settings are enabled, users who do not sign in within the set period are locked out. Administrators can grant a one-time sign-in during a grace period to allow the user to reactivate the account. See [Manage General settings](/docs/authentication-and-security/manage-authenticators/manage-general-settings.md) for more information about configuring inactivity settings.

1. Click Menu icon **>** **Members > Users**. The **Users List** page appears.
2. Select the user that needs to be reactivated. The **User Profile** page appears.
3. Select **Check here to update the time the user is temporarily enabled** to allow the user to reactivate their account.
4. Click **Save**.

## Disable or enable a user

To prevent a user from signing in without deleting the account, you can disable the user. To restore access, enable the user again.

### Disable a user

1. Click Menu icon **>** **Members > Users**. The **Users List** page appears.
2. Click Square icon next to the user you want to disable. The **Disable User** dialog box appears.
3. Click **Confirm**.

### Enable a user

1. Click Menu icon **>** **Members > Users**. The **Users List** page appears.
2. Click Play icon next to the user. The **Enable User** dialog box appears.
3. Click **Confirm**.
