> For AI agents: [llms.txt](https://docs.trustedauth.com/llms.txt) provides a Markdown index of this documentation.

# Unlink users from an Active Directory

You can unlink individual users that are synchronized from a directory. This feature lets administrators remove problem accounts that no longer exist in Active Directory but are still synchronized with IDaaS. When a user is unlinked, the user becomes locally managed in IDaaS.

To use this feature, your IDaaS account must have a directory added.

## Unlink a user

1. Click Menu icon **>** **Members > Users**. The **Users List** page appears.
2. Do one of the following:
   1. From the top menu options:
      1. Click Ellipsis Vertical icon at the top of the **Users List** page.
      2. Click Refresh CW Off icon **Unlink**. The **Unlink User** dialog box appears.
      3. Enter the **User ID** of the user you want to unlink.
      4. Click **Unlink**.
   2. From the user list:
      1. Click Ellipsis Vertical icon in the **Actions** column of the user you want to unlink from your IDaaS account.
      2. Select Refresh CW Off icon **Unlink** to unlink the synchronized user. The **Unlink User** dialog box appears.
      3. Click **Unlink**.
3. The user **Source** is now locally managed in IDaaS. The user type is either:
   - **Local** if the user does not have an External ID value.
   - **External** if the user has an External ID value.
