> For AI agents: [llms.txt](https://docs.trustedauth.com/llms.txt) provides a Markdown index of this documentation.

# Bulk delete users or groups

You can delete users simultaneously using a CSV file. Your role must include the permission to delete users. To delete users in bulk, you need to download the CSV file containing the user list.

note

Users connected to Identity as a Service through Active Directory synchronization and users with a Super Administrator role cannot be deleted in bulk.

Attention

Users without a Super Administrator role can delete themselves from Identity as a Service when bulk deleting users by including their user names in the .CSV file uploaded to Identity as a Service. Be careful which names are included in files uploaded to Identity as a Service for bulk deletion.

## CVS file format requirements

The header row in your CSV file contains only one column with userId as the value.

The following is a sample CSV file to help you get started:

userId  
user1  
user2  
user3  
user4

Download a sample file: [BulkDeleteUsers.csv](/assets/files/BulkDeleteUsers-56ba562e464068dda71eb9e688890ff1.csv/)

## Delete users in bulk

### How to delete users in bulk

1. Click Menu icon **>** **Members > Users**. The **Users List** page appears.
2. Select the users you want to delete. You can use the filter option to select specific users (see [View, filter, and export user list](/docs/people-and-access/manage-members/add-users-to-identity-as-a-service/view-filter-and-export-user-list.md)).
3. On the **User List** page, click Arrow Down To Line icon to download the selected user list in a .CSV file. Only one page at a time is downloaded. If your selection includes multiple rows, you must download each page individually.
4. Click Menu icon **>** **Bulk Operations**. The **Bulk Operations** page appears.
5. Click Circle Plus icon. The **Add Bulk Operation** page appears.
6. From the **Operations** drop-down list, select **Users**.
7. From the **Actions** drop-down list, select **Delete**.
8. Set the **Maximum Number of Retries** to the number of retries the bulk operation can attempt if the bulk import is not immediately successful. The default value is 5. This setting prevents an endless number of retry attempt if the operation fails.
9. Enter a unique **Name** that identifies the operation in the **Bulk Operations List** page.
10. Enter a **Description** so that other users can understand the purpose of the operation.
11. Optional. Copy or download the same bulk file and modify it as required.
12. Click **Initiate and Upload**.
13. The **Start/Stop** dialog box appears.
14. Click **Start**. When the upload completes, a **Finished** prompt appears.
15. Click **Finished**. You are returned to the **Bulk Operations List** page. Your bulk operation appears in the list. You can verify the status of the bulk operation.
16. To see a summary of the upload, click Play icon to view the details of the bulk operation, including any error information.
17. Click Refresh CW icon in the **Refresh** column to refresh the status of a bulk operation. This option appears only when a refresh is available.
