Skip to main content

View, edit, delete password authenticators

After you assign a password authenticator to a user, you can manage these password authenticator actions:

  • View the password details.
  • Set the expiry time.
  • Force a password update.
  • Reset a password (if enabled).
  • Clear the password history.
  • Delete a password.
  • Send a password expiry notification message.

For password self-service reset behavior, see Manage password reset.

View, update, and delete a password authenticator

Complete these steps to manage an existing password authenticator:

  1. Click > Members > Users. The Users List page appears.

  2. Click the UserID. The User Details page appears.

  3. Click the Authenticators tab. The Authenticators page appears.

  4. Click next to the Password authenticator.

  5. Select the action you want to perform:

    • Click Reset to update password settings. For details, see Assign a password authenticator.
    • Click Details to view password details, then click OK to close the details dialog.
    • Click Send Notification to send a password expiry notification message.
    note

    The Send Notification feature is only available if sending expiry notifications is enabled. See Modify password authenticator settings for more details.

    • Click Set Expiry Time to set password lifetime values. For details, see Assign a password authenticator.
    • Click Force Password Update to require the user to change their password, then click Force Password in the prompt.
    • Click Clear Password History, then click Clear in the prompt.
    • Click Delete to remove the password authenticator, then click Delete in the prompt.

Validate your changes

After you complete an action, verify the expected result:

  1. Changes appear on the user's Authenticators tab.
  2. Prompted confirmation actions (for example, Delete or Clear) are applied.
  3. If notification was sent, delivery occurs according to your configured notification channel behavior.