Skip to main content

Delete retained challenges

A retained challenge is a set of KBA questions that a user did not answer correctly. The user must continue answering the same question set until the challenge time limit expires. This time limit is controlled by the Q&A Challenge Lifetime setting, which can be changed at any time. For more information, see Modify knowledge-based authentication settings.

This procedure explains how to delete a user's retained challenge record so the user can receive a new set of questions.

note

You do not need to complete this procedure if the Disable Challenge Retention authenticator setting is enabled. When this setting is enabled, users are prompted to answer a new set of questions each time a KBA challenge is requested.

Delete retained challenges

Use this procedure to delete a user's retained KBA challenge record so the user can receive a new set of questions.

  1. Click > Members > Users. The Users List page appears.
  2. Click the User ID of the user. The User Details page appears.
  3. Click the Authenticators tab. The Authenticators page appears.
  4. Click to the right of the KBA authenticator that you want to update. A drop-down list appears.
  5. Select Delete Retained Challenges. A confirmation pop-up appears.
  6. Click Delete.

Validate your changes

After deletion, verify the following:

  1. The retained challenge record is removed for the selected user.
  2. The user receives a new KBA question set on the next challenge.
  3. If challenge retention is still enabled, the new retained set behaves according to the configured challenge lifetime.